For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!


Results: 41 - 60 of 83
Results: 41 - 60 of 83
  • .
    Sander Bais Prize 2016 awarded
    2 Sep 2016
    The Sander Bais Prize 2016 has been awarded to Cathelijne ter Burg and Karel Temmink, master students of Theoretical Physics at the Institute of Physics.
  • NWO
    Veni grants for Juan Pedraza (UvA) and Enej IIlievski (UvA)
    15 Jul 2016
    The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) has awarded a Veni grant to theoretical physicists Juan Pedraza and Enej IIlievski, both researchers at the University of Amsterdam.
  • .
    PRL cover for Soligno, Dijkstra, van Roij (Utrecht)
    24 Jun 2016
    The cover of the June 24 (2016) issue of Physical Review Letters features a graphical representation of research by Utrecht PhD student Giuseppe Soligno and his supervisors Marjolein Dijkstra (DINS) and Rene van ...
  • Second layer of information in DNA confirmed
    9 Jun 2016
    Leiden theoretical physicists have proven that not only the genetic information in DNA determines who we are, but also DNA’s mechanics. Helmut Schiessel and his group simulated many DNA sequences and found a ...
  • .
    Paolo Zanardi and Lorenzo Campos Venuti: lecture series
    6 Jun 2016
    It's a great pleasure to welcome our DITP visitors, Prof. Paolo Zanardi and Dr. Lorenzo Campos Venuti from University of Southern California, Los Angeles (USA). They will give several introductory lectures and ...
  • NWO
    NWO Vidi Grants for Luca Giomi (Leiden) and Carmine Ortix (Utrecht)
    13 May 2016
    The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) has awarded a Vidi grant to Luca GIomi (Leiden) and Carmine Ortix (Utrecht). They will will each receive an €800,000 to develop their own innovative line of ...
  • .
    Charles Kane: Lorentz Professor 2016
    2 May 2016
    Each year an eminent theoretical physicist holds the Lorentz Chair. The 2016 Lorentz professor is Charles Kane, from the University of Pennsylvania. During his stay, he will give several colloquia, student courses ...
  • Bert Vercnocke
    Bert Vercnocke wins FameLab Netherlands
    26 Apr 2016
    Science is everything but boring. The living proof lies in Bert Vercnocke’s enthusiastic pitch on string theory last Friday, 22 April. With this pitch, he outshone his fellow finalists during the Dutch final of ...
  • ERC logo
    ERC Advanced Grant for Leiden physicist Alexey Boyarsky
    14 Apr 2016
    Leiden physicist Alexey Boyarsky has been awarded an ERC Advanced Grant to research an extension of the standard model of particle physics. He shares the grant with research groups from Lausanne and Copenhagen. ...
  • .
    Daniel Baumann appointed professor of Theoretical Cosmology
    8 Mar 2016
    Daniel Baumann has been appointed professor of Theoretical Cosmology at the University of Amsterdam’s (UvA) Faculty of Science. The chair is meant to strengthen the UvA’s Institute of Physics and will be closely ...
  • .
    Millisecond pulsars are likely to account for dark matter signal in galactic centre
    4 Feb 2016
    The puzzling excess of gamma rays from the centre of the Milky Way probably originate from rapidly rotating neutron stars, or millisecond pulsars, and not from dark matter annihilation, as previously claimed. This is ...
  • .
    FOM Physics Poster Prize for Diego Cohen-Maldonado
    22 Jan 2016
    Diego Cohen-Maldonado, PhD student in theoretical physics at the Insitute of Physics, was assigned the FOM Physics Poster Prize 2016. The prize, 750 euro, was awardes at the tenth edition of Physics@FOM in Veldhoven, ...
  • .
    Two FOM Projectruimte Grants for Theoretical Physics research projects
    18 Dec 2015
    The foundation for fundamental research on matter (FOM) has divided a total of 3.3 million Euro over nine researchers. Amongst them are two Delta ITP researchers: professor Carlo Beenakker (Leiden), who is awarded a ...
  • Einstein's Gravity on the wall
    23 Nov 2015
    On Tuesday November 24th, professor Robbert Dijkgraaf (IAS, Princeton) will unveil a painted version of Einstein’s Field Equation on Museum Boerhaave’s outside wall. This launches a series of at least ten physics ...
  • .
    Granted research proposals 2015
    19 Nov 2015
    The results of the Delta ITP project round 2015 were decided on Tuesday 17 November 2015, based on an evaluation of an independent and representative committee. Based on the grading, the excutive board decided to ...
  • ERC logo
    ERC Starting grants for Wouter Waalewijn, Philippe Corboz
    18 Nov 2015
    The European Research Council (ERC) has awarded a Starting Grant to Wouter Waalewijn (Delta Institute for Theoretical Physics) and Philippe Corboz (Institute of Physics, Amsterdam).
  • .
    Lorentz Graduation Award for Koen Schakenraad
    18 Nov 2015
    PhD student Koen Schakenraad has won this year’s Lorentz Afstudeerprijs, a prize awarded annually by the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) to a recently graduated theoretical physics master ...
  • .
    Book Release: Holographic Duality in Condensed Matter Physics
    17 Nov 2015
    The physics of black holes appears to be as far removed from the physics of electrons in metals as it can be. Now Prof. Jan Zaanen, Prof. Koenraad Schalm (both Leiden University), Dr. Yan Liu and Dr. Ya-Wen Sun (both ...
  • .
    Utrechtse scholier wint eerste Natuurkunde Olympiade voor de onderbouw
    22 Sep 2015
    De finale van de allereerste Nederlandse Natuurkunde Olympiade voor de onderbouw is gewonnen door Samuel Klumpers van het Stedelijk Gymnasium in Utrecht. De prijs – een trofee en een oorkonde – werd gistermiddag ...
  • .
    FOM Projectruimte Grant for Jan Zaanen and Koenraad Schalm
    9 Jul 2015
    Leiden researchers prof. Jan Zaanen and prof. Koenraad Schalm received a FOM Projectruimte Grant for their research proposal ‘The strange metals: when quantum entanglement reaches its extreme’.